Diets

Gluten-free diet: what to eat

Gluten-free diet.

If you think you might be gluten intolerant or you have already been diagnosed with celiac disease, you have to start a gluten-free diet. We bring you all the information you need in order to get rid of all the foods that may contain gluten and can be harmful for your health. So keep reading and get ready to begin with a gluten-free diet!

What is gluten?

First of all you need to get familiar with the gluten term and to know what is it and how it affects your body.
Gluten is composed of two proteins: gliadin and glutelin, and you can find it in the seeds of differents cereals and wheat. It’s important to realize that flour is made with wheat and cereals, and a lot of foods are made with flavour, for instance, bread. That’s why it’s necessary to know as soon as possible if you have celiac disease and need a gluten-free diet because many daily foods contain gluten. Who doesn’t eat almost everyday bread? Or have a beer from time to time? Yes, beer is also harmful for celiacs because it contains barley which is a cereal who has gluten. But don’t get scared, having celiac disease doesn’t mean that you can’t eat or drink barely anything. The gluten-free diet takes into account replacement foods.

Food with gluten.

Food that contains gluten. Image: Getty.

What is the celiac disease?

It’s a longlife autoimmune disease cuased by the immune system reacting to gluten. This disease affects people that are alergic to barley, rye and wheat because they contain gluten. They are basicly alergic to gluten. It can be dangerous because when you are gluten intolerant and you eat something that contains this protein you can damage your intestines and cause flattening and chronic inflammation of the ‘villi’ in the intestines. The solution is to have a gluten-free diet for the rest of your life.

The symptoms you may get if you have celiac disease or if you are intolerant are:

  • Abdominal pain.
  • Nausea.
  • Vomiting.
  • Diarrhea.
  • Bloating.
  • Fatty stools, with mucous or blood.
  • Constipation.
  • Acid Reflux.

What can or can’t you eat?

You can try our gluten free cupcakes recipe, a delicious way to have cupcakes with no gluten risk! They are made of rice flour, so they don’t contain any ingredient of the “don’t eat” list. We also recommend our banana bread recipe which is completely gluten-free. Check out what foods you can eat and which ones you can’t:

 Gluten-free diet food list.

Uso de cookies

Este sitio web utiliza cookies para que usted tenga la mejor experiencia de usuario. Si continúa navegando está dando su consentimiento para la aceptación de las mencionadas cookies y la aceptación de nuestra política de cookies, pinche el enlace para mayor información.plugin cookies